Hacked? Deleting Your StockX Account Isn’t an Easy Process

Aug 5, 2019 | Ian Stonebrook |

Rate:


Loading...

Over the weekend, news broke of StockX being hacked with over 6.8 million records reportedly stolen from the site.

For users, this theft of secure information felt some feeling unsafe. For many, the password update prompt email felt insincere following said situation.

In the time following the news of the hack, StockX has addressed the situation on a recent blog post stating that compromised information included “customer name, email address, shipping address, username, hashed passwords, and purchase history.” Thankfully, their investigation shows “there is no evidence to suggest that customer financial or payment information has been impacted.”

For those still wanting to use StockX, it is much recommended to change your password so that it differs from any password you use for any other important accounts such as your bank or your email. To be safe, you should reset those online logins if they indeed matched that of your former StockX login as a precaution.

For those looking to delete their account we’ve found that it is possible but very difficult.

Please note you have to click the FAQ section to delete your account or make any secure changes beyond resetting your password. It is not accessible from the Account or Profile section.

Here is a step-by-step process on how to do so.

Step 1: Access the FAQ Page

While one would assume account deletion would take place on the ‘My Account’ page, one actually has to access the ‘FAQ’ tab on the top right to make moves in this process.

Step 2: Click ‘Data Security Issue’

Accessing the ‘Data Security Issue’ portion of the FAQ page is the next step in deleting your account. This will provide literature on the recent situation as well as direct you towards being able to delete your account if you so choose.

Step 3: Click ‘How do I Delete or Deactivate My Account’

For those looking to further explore the current data theft situation or reset their password, accessing the top two options will help in either matter. For those that want to delete or deactivate their account, there is a new portion — listed third and lastly — that you can click to do so as updated yesterday.

Step 4: Email [email protected]

Much like the prior prompts, this page gives you two options that allow you to retain your account while taking steps to presumably protect your security moving forward. The first one allows you to delete your billing information. Investigations suggest this data has not been stolen or compromised, however this is clearly the most sensitive information linked to one’s account. To deactivate or suspend your account, the second prompt would keep anyone from being able to purchase or sell using your information.

Lastly, to actually delete your account one has to manually email [email protected] to do so. We are yet to hear any feedback as to how long this process takes once the information is sent but keep it locked to Nice Kicks on all updates regarding this matter and topic.

NEVER MISS A RELEASE AGAIN