16-Team Basketball Event Scheduled to Honor Phil Knight

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read ourĀ disclosure policy.

Phil Knight and Nike?s imprint on sports is on full display in the collegiate arena, namely college basketball. The Swoosh sponsors some of the most historically great schools, such as University of North Carolina, Duke University, Michigan State University, University of Kentucky, and University of Texas. As a sign of gratitude, and in celebration of Knight?s 80th birthday, 16 of the top Nike sponsored schools have committed to participate in an in-season tournament in 2017. The tournament will be played at the Rose Garden and Veterans Memorial Coliseum in Portland on a to-be-determined Thursday, Friday, and Sunday (skipping Saturday in lieu of college football) in late November. Conference restrictions don?t allow for early matchups from the same conference, thus the 16-team format. Also, a change in sneaker association, and the current fluid climate of college athletics and conference affiliations could possibly throw a wrench in the plans. If all stays the same, Michigan State athletic director, Mark Hollis, would have two monumental collegiate events to his credit after spearheading the Michigan State vs. UNC “Carrier Classic” game this past season. Take a look at the list of participants and their conference affiliations below.

Kentucky (SEC)
Florida (SEC)
Michigan State (Big Ten)
Ohio State (Big Ten)
Duke (ACC)
North Carolina (ACC)
Connecticut (Big East)
Georgetown (Big East)
Texas (Big 12)
Oklahoma (Big 12)
Stanford (Pac-12)
Oregon (Pac-12)
Xavier (A-10)
Butler (A-10)
Gonzaga (WCC)
Portland (WCC)

Sourec: ESPN

Related Posts:


Leave a Reply