Kickstarter: The Shoe That Got Big K.R.I.T. Hooked

355 2
Kickstarter

Big K.R.I.T. has been slaying Celebrity Sneaker Stalker since he stepped on the site. Since his arrival, he’s picked up grail status pairs like the “DMP” 6s and even taken the ‘first’ title on last year’s “Concord” drop. For Krizzle though, it wasn’t a rare retro or even a childhood OG that cemented his sneakerhead status. In this installment of Kickstarter, K.R.I.T. takes us back to his come up and the Spike Lee signature that got him hooked.

Jordan Spizike

Jordan Spizike White/Varsity Red-Classic Green via Flight Club

Big K.R.I.T.: “I went to Flight Club in New York and had the opportunity to pick them up with Steve-O. I was just trying to find a shoe that captures me, because everybody can go to Flight Club and get the 3s and 11s. I wanted to put these Spizikes on. The colorway was crazy. I started with the White/Red-Green and from there I just started collecting Spizikes.”

“If you look at some of my earlier mixtape covers I was wearing black and green, green and yellow, so they kind of went with everything in my closet at the time. To me, the green pops on stage, especially on the black pair. It got to the point where I just started getting all of the Spizikes. I’d say that now I have roughly 12 pairs. I was just looking for something that people weren’t really rocking at the time. Over time, I fell in love with the 11s, the 5s, the 4s, and the 3s. I don’t even wear Spizikes so much now, but whenever they do come out I try to cop them.”

Big K.R.I.T. in the Jordan Spizike White/Red-Green

Big K.R.I.T. performing in the Jordan Spizike White/Red-Green (photo by Steve-O)

Fans of Big K.R.I.T. in Austin, TX can catch him perform at the ACL Music Festival Late Night Show on Friday, October 12th at The Beauty Ballroom with Slim Thug. Doors open at 10pm and tickets are available here.

Special thanks to C3 Presents.

About The Author

Ian Stonebrook lives in Austin, TX where he spends most of his time kicking it with friends and fam, hooping, golfing and going out.

2 Comments on "Kickstarter: The Shoe That Got Big K.R.I.T. Hooked"

  1. MrEsoteric

    I bang with him on the strength that the Spizike is the only “hybrid” I will rock…still made I didn’t get the Blue Knicks pair.? The man throws a mean show too.

Leave a Reply